Plan B: The Outdoor Wedding

So you’ve decided to have an outdoor wedding. Whether it’s in Miami, Florida or Southern California you must always, I repeat ALWAYS have Plan B, C, and D. I have yet to meet anyone that has an “in” with mother nature. Outdoor weddings are gorgeous, magical, and risky. When having an outdoor wedding, you should always think of the following:

  1. Do I love my indoor options as much as I love my outdoor vision?
    1. If you don’t then you should probably look at alternate venues whose indoor environment excites you just as much as the outdoor setting.
  2. How late can I make the rain call?
    1. Most venues make it 3 hours prior to ceremony time. More if your reception is outdoors as well.
  3. If I decide to keep it outside and it rains when we are heading out for ceremony, what happens?
    1. Then you go into Plan U: Umbrellas. Be ready for the water, open up those umbrellas and embrace the rain.

As a planner, the one thing I can never promise or control is Mother Nature. Plan B’s are always thought of but sometimes our clients want to take the risk of keeping it outdoors in hopes it will clear up. Sometimes it does. Sometimes it does not. If you opt for taking the risk you must be open to embracing the consequences. Speak with your venue or planner about having large umbrellas handy. Make sure your team of vendors are prepared for the rain as well. A great team goes a long way. At the end of the day what is most important is that you are celebrating the start of your new life together as husband and wife among family and friends. If you must, dance under the rain!

This entry was posted in Weddings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment